Province of Pretoria
St Benedict

Right Reverend
Appointed Bishop on 10th June 2013 and ordained Bishop on 07th September 2013

Postal Address:
PO Box 166, Polokwane 0700
Residence: 08 Compensatie Street
Tel: 015 295 8152 / 56
Fax: 015 295 8152 / 56


Coat of Arms and Motto


Do this in memory of me


  1. Rt. Rev Abbot/Bishop Frederic Osterrath, OSB, appointed 14 November 1939,
    resigned 1952
  2. resigned 1952;
    Rt. Rev Abbot/Bishop F C Van Hoeck, OSB, appointed 6 January 1954, resigned 3
    December 1974 and died 20 April 1976.
  3. Rt. Rev Bishop Fulgence Le Roy OSB, Elected Abbot 18 December 1974, he was
    appointed Apostolic Administrator on the 17 January 1975 and Abbot Nullius and Bishop of Ausafa 10 July 1975 and consecrated 14 September 1975. Appointed first Bishop of Polokwane 15 December 1988. Retired 4thJune 2000.
  4. Rt. Rev. Bishop Mogale Paul Nkhumishe, was appointed Auxiliary Bishop on the 5th November 1981, consecrated on the 14th February 1982, appointed Apostolic Administrator on the 25th February 1983 and Bishop of Witbank Diocese on the 9th of January 1984. Transferred and installed as Bishop of Polokwane on the 04th of June 2000. Retired on the 09th December 2011 and died on the 29th June 2012.

History of the Diocese

The Northern Transvaal was erected a Prefecture by Decree of The Sacred Congregation for Propagation of Faith on 22 December 1910. The Rev Fr D Ildefons Lanslots, OSB was appointed first Prefect Apostolic. He resigned in 1921, and was succeeded by the Rt. Rev D Salvator van Nuffel, OSB, who resigned in 1939. By further decree on 13 June 1939, the Prefecture Apostolic of the Northern Transvaal was raised to the dignity of an Abbey Nullius, followed by the Decree of 14 November 1939 that announced the appointment by the Holy Father of the Very Rev D Frederic Osterrath, OSB, as first Abbot and Titular Bishop of Tangiers in Mauritania. He resigned in 1952. Polokwane became a Diocese on 21 December 1988. It comprises the districts of Polokwane, Mokopane, Waterberg, Bela- bela, Lephalale, Bochum, Mankweng, Mokerong, Seshego, Thabamoopo and part of Moretele.

Area: 69 533 sq. km.

Total Pop: 2 500,000

Cath Pop: 32 988

For more info

Leave a Reply