The Commission for Liturgy liaises with Dioceses by working with and through diocesan liturgical committees and coordinators, promoting sound and edifying Liturgy among all groups within the Christian community – families, adults, youth and children.


The official respondent of the Conference to the relevant Congregations and Councils of the Holy See, and to the related bodies of other Episcopal Conferences;

liturgical formation and education that is consistent with the Pastoral Plan in the following areas:

    • Liturgical celebration
    • Liturgical inculturation
    • Church art and architecture
    • Liturgical music
  • Facilitates, where possible, translations of liturgical materials into various languages, and forwards liturgical texts approved by the Conference to the Holy See for final approval;
  • Prepares liturgical material for use during Plenary Sessions and meetings of the Administrative Board of the Conference;
  • Liaises with and supports the various liturgical training programmes in the seminaries and formation institutes within the territories of the Conference;
  • Develops and promotes liturgical research and programmes at the request of the Conference and in co-operation with diocesan and other liturgical bodies.


The Commission consists of the following:

  • the Episcopal Chairperson of the Department for Christian Formation, Liturgy and Culture;
  • the Episcopal Vice-Chairperson of the same Department;
  • the third Episcopal Member of the same Department
  • the Coordinating Secretary of the Department
  • the Secretary of the Commission
  • co-opted members who contribute liturgical expertise and have been appointed by the Commission as consultants.

Coordinating Secretary:

Sr Victoria Sibisi, FCSCJ.
129 Main Street, Waterkloof – Pretoria
P.O. Box 941
Tel: 012 323 6458

Leave a Reply