Province of Bloemfotein
The Sacred Heart of Jesus

Most Reverend
Appointed: 01st April 2020.
Installed: 19th June 2020.

Postal Address:
PO Box 362, Bloemfontein 9300.
Residence: 7A White’s Road, Bloemfontein.
Tel: 051 448 1658
Fax: 051 447 2420

Coat of Arms and Motto

As I have loved you, love one another 


  1. Archbishop H. J. Meysing. (1951-1954)
  2. Archbishop W.P. Whelan (1954-1966)
  3. Archbishop J. P. Fitzgerald (1966-1976)
  4. Archbishop P. J. Butelezi (1978-1997)
  5. Archbishop B. J. Tlhagale (1999-2003)
  6. Archbishop J. A. Nxumalo (2005-2020)

History of the Diocese

On 11 January 1951 Pope Pius XII established the Ecclesiastical Hierarchy in the Union of South Africa, and set up the Ecclesistical province of Bloemfontein. It comprises the Archdiocese of Bloemfontein and the following suffragan dioceses: Bethlehem, Kroonstad, Kimbereley, Keimoes-Upington.
The former Archbishops were Archbishop H. J. Meysing. (1951-1954) Archbishop W.P. Whelan (1954-1966), Archbishop J. P. Fitzgerald (1966-1976) Archbishop P. J. Butelezi (1978-1997) Archbishop B. J. Tlhagale (1999-2003).
The Archdiocese includes the civil districts: Bloemfontein, Boshof, Botshabelo, Brandfort, Bultfontein, Dealesville, Dewetsdorp, Edenburg, Excelsior, Fauresmith, hertzogville, Hobhouse, Jacobsdal, Koffiefontein, Luckhoff, Marseilles, Petrusburg, Phillipolis, Redderburg, Smithfield, Thaba Nchu, Trompsburg, Tweespruit, Verkeerdevlei, Wepener, Zastron, and portion of Ladyband, Hoopstad.

Area: 64 393 sq. km.

Total Pop: 670 000

Cath Pop: 100 00

For more info

Leave a Reply