The Department for Formation, Life and Apostolate of the Laity is at the service of the local dioceses, strengthening communion between the laity and the hierarchy, committed to the implementation of the vision of the Conference as promoted by the Council for Evangelisation and other magisterial documents.

The Department for Formation, Life and Apostolate of the Laity:

Initiates and implements programmes for the ongoing formation of the laity, as envisaged by the teachings of Vatican Council II and other subsequent Church documents.

Promotes the participation of the laity in the life of the Church, giving attention to all, professional and lay.

Coordinates Sodalities, Associations and Movements of the Laity;

The official liaison with the Pontifical Council for Laity and its constituent bodies, viz. women, family, youth, sport;

Liaises with other Departments of the Conference and other relevant bodies;

Coordinates the Youth Ministry through the Youth Office;

Coordinates the Ministry to Families through the Marriage and Family Life Office;

Organises Pastoral Forums every three years as well as pastoral consultations through the Laity Council, monitoring and encouraging the implementation of the decisions of the Forums;

Examines, analyses and interprets issues facing the Laity regarding Evangelisation proposing goals and priorities to the Conference through the Council for Evangelisation.

The membership of the Department consists of the following:

  • Episcopal Chairperson
  • Episcopal Vice-Chairperson
  • Liaison Bishop for Youth
  • The Coordinating Secretary of the Department
  • The Directors of Pastoral Training from St. John Vianney Seminary and St. Joseph’s Theological Institute
  • The Chairperson of the Laity Council
  • Inter-Diocesan Youth Chaplain
  • Inter-Diocesan Youth Chairperson
  • Secretary of the Marriage and Family Life Office

Laity Department Bishops

Chairperson: Bishop Z. Mpambani SCJ
V. Chairperson:Bishop Joao Rodrigues
Coordinating Secretary: Fr Sakhi Mofokeng

Laity Council Executive

1. Chairperon: Ms Ursula Collings: E-mail:
2. V. Chairperson: Ms Kelly Shikwabana: E-mail:
3. Secretary: Mr Enency Mbatha: E-mail:
4. V. Secretary: Mr Josie Ralebenya: E-mail:
5. PRO: Mr Joseph Nkumane: E-mail:

Laity Council Members

1 Ms Nikiwe Tsemane Alliwal North 1
2 Bishop Zolile Mpambani SCJ Kokstad
3 Mr Josie Ralebenya Bethlehem
4 Gerald Lemao Bloemfontein
5 Fr Mthembeni SACBC- Youth
6 Fr Sakhi Mofokeng SACBC
7 Dipontsho Phate Bloemfontein
8 Ms Kelly Shikwabana Cape Town
9 Ms Ursula Collings Durban
10 Mr Theo Kgapola Johannesburg
11 Mr SO Mpanza Ingwavuma
12 Ms Nomonde Macoba Kokstad
13 Mr Patric Mngomezulu Kroonstad
14 Mr Joseph Nkumane Manzini-SD
15 Mr Frederick Haines Marianhill
16 Mr Johny Claasen Oudtshoorn
17 Mr Ambrose Matsheta Polokwane
18 Ms Enency Mbatha Pretoria
19 Ms Ntombikho Gijana Queenstown
20 Ms Julia Sephikoe Rustenburg
21 Ms Rendani Mabaso Tzaneen
22 Mr Nolan Thurston Umtatha
23 Mr Sipho Mhlongo Umzimkhulu
24 Mr Danny Makaza Upington-Keimos
25 Mr Meshack Nyathi Witbank
26 Ms Naledi Masooane Klerksdorp
27 Ms Judy Moalekwa Kimberley
28 Ms Sindi Ntuli Eshowe
29 Mr Octavio Seitshiro Gaborone
30 Mr Skhumbuzo Sibeko Dundee
31 Mr Khona Salavu Port Elizabeth
32 ………………..  Francistown ………………………………

SACBC Copyright © 2018. Designed and maintained by: Mariannhill Media