Province of Cape Town
Christ the King

Right Reverend
Bishop Dabula Anthony Mpako
Appointed Bishop of Queenstown on 23 May 2011 and ordained Bishop on 6 August 2011.

Postal Address:
PO Box 182, Queenstown, 5320
Residence: “Mayfield” 10–12 Grey Street, Queenstown, 5319
Tel: 045 839 7325
Fax: 045 838 2209


Coat of Arms and Motto


  1. Rt Rev Mgr Vogel SAC, († 11 May 1936).
  2. Rev Fr P Hoffend SAC, as Administrator, until 1937
  3. Rt Rev Bishop J B Rosenthal SAC, retired 2 February 1972 († 22 May 1975)
  4. Rt Rev Bishop JB Rosner SAC, retired 28 April 1984 († 8 April 1998).
  5. Rt Rev Bishop Herbert Nikolaus Lenhof SAC, Appointed Bishop of Queenstown 3 February
    1984, ordained bishop: 28 April 1984. Resigned 16 November 2009.
  6. Rt Rev Bishop Michael Wüstenberg, Apostolic Administrator from 16 November 2009 to 6
    August 2011.

History of the Diocese

On 20 February 1929, the civil districts forming the Diocese of Queenstown were separated from the Eastern Vicariate (Port Elizabeth) and entrusted to the “Pious Society of Missions” (Pallottine Fathers and Brothers). In 1947 the Holy See restored the original name given to the Society by the Founder, Saint Vincent Pallotti: “Society of the Catholic Apostolate” (Societas Apostolatus Catholici, abbreviated: “S.A.C.”).
The diocese originally comprised the districts of Queenstown, Cathcart, Stutterheim, Tarka, Hofmeyr, Glen Grey, Stockenström, Maraisburg and a part of St Mark’s. By decree of the Sacred Congregation de Propaganda Fide, approved by Pope Pius XII on 7 February 1952, the magisterial districts: St Mark’s, Tsomo, Ngqamakhwe, Butterworth, Dutywa, Centane and Willowvale, which, until then, had formed part of the Umtata Diocese, were incorporated into the Diocese of Queenstown.

Area: 24 499 sq. km.

Total Pop: 2 625 000

Cath Pop: 31 500


For more info

SACBC Copyright © 2018. Designed and maintained by: Mariannhill Media