Province of Pretoria
The Sacred Heart of Jesus Mother of Good Counsel

Most Reverend
Archbishop William Slattery OFM
Appointed Bishop of Kokstad on 7th December 1993, ordained on 19th February 1994. Appointed Archbishop of Pretoria and Military Ordinary to the South African National
Defence Force on 23rd December 2010. Installed 30th January 2011.

Postal Address:
PO Box 8149, Pretoria
Residence: Garner House, 125 Main Street, Waterkloof, Pretoria 0181
Tel: 012 460 2055
Fax: 012 325 3994


Coat of Arms and Motto


  1. Prefect Apostolic John Colburn Garner – 1948 – 1951
  2. Archbishop John Colburn Garner – 1951 – 1975 (Deceased)
  3. Archbishop George Francis Daniel 1975 – 2009 – retired, PO Box 1372,  Holy Cross,  Cell: 076 168 1268
  4. Archbishop Paul Mandla Khumalo CMM, 2009 – 2010 – retired, Marianhill Monastery

History of the Diocese

Bishop Jolivet, OMI, Vicar Apostolic of Natal, visited this distant portion of his vast mission and celebrated the first Mass in Pretoria on 8 June 1877. Later Lydenburg, Barberton, Pilgrim’s Rest and the Witwatersrand were visited and centres established. Subdivision of the Vicariate of Natal ensued and Pretoria and surrounding districts formed part of the Prefecture Apostolic of the Transvaal (1886), which became the Vicariate Apostolic of the Transvaal (1904).
By Decree dated 9 April 1948, the Vicariate Apostolic of Pretoria was erected and confided to the secular clergy. Rt. Rev. Bishop J. C. Garner, PhD, was consecrated Titular Bishop of Tracula, 31 May 1948, and appointed first Vicar Apostolic.
On 11. January 1951, Pope Pius XII established the Ecclesiastical Hierarchy in the Union of South Africa and set up the Ecclesiastical Province of Pretoria.

Area: 16 579 sq. km.

Total Pop: 4,057,862

Cath Pop: 225,000

For more info

SACBC Copyright © 2018. Designed and maintained by: Mariannhill Media