Province of Pretoria
Patron: St. Alphonsus Maria de Ligouri

Right Reverend
Consecrated Bishop of Rustenburg on 27 February, 2021

Postal Addresss:
PO Box 45, Boshoek, 0301.

Residential Address: Bishop’s House, St Joseph’s Mission,
Boekenhoutfontein 34, Phokeng 0335.
Tel: +27 83 655 0457,
Fax: 0865617634,
Cell: +27 83 655 0457, 

Coat of Arms and Motto



  1. Rt Rev Kevin Patrick Dowling C.Ss.R. Appointed Bishop of Rustenburg on 02 December 1910. Ordained bishop on 27 January 1991. Retired 25 November 2020.
  2. Rt Rev H L Paxton Hallett C.Ss.R. Appointed Prefect Apostolic of the new Prefecture Apostolic of Rustenburg on 29 September 1971. Appointed Bishop of the new Diocese of Rustenburg on 27 November 1987, and ordained Bishop of 30 January 1988. Died on 30 January 1990, the second anniversary of his consecration.


History of the Diocese

The former Prefecture was raised to the status of a Diocese by papal decree (dated 27 November 1987).
The Diocese comprises the Magisterial Districts of Rustenburg, Koster, Swartruggens, Marico, Thabazimbi, Phokeng, Mankwe, Madikwe, Lehurutse and a portion of Odi.
Previously, the territory formed part of the Archdiocese of Pretoria.

Area: 32,120 sq. km.

Total Pop:  1,780,000

Cath Pop: 45,200

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

For more info

Leave a Reply