Province of Pretoria
Our Lady of Sorrows

Right Reverend
Appointed  Vicar Apostolic of Francistown, Botswana 27th June 1998. Ordinained Bishops 07th November 1998, Appointed Apostolic Administrator of Gaborone 09th August 2017, Appointed Bishop of Francistown 02nd October 2017, Appointed Bishop of Gaborone O6th June 2019, Installed Bishop of Gaborone 17th August 2019.


Postal Address:
PO Box 218, Gaborone, Botswana.
Residence: Plot 161 Queen’s road
Tel: 00267 391 2958
Fax: 00267 390 9572 / 00267 395 6970.

Coat of Arms and Motto


Servus Domini


  1. Rt Rev Bishop U C J Murphy, CP, was ordained 14 September 1966 and died 27 February 1981
  2. Rt Rev Bishop Boniface Tshosa Setlalekgosi was Appointed Bishop of Gaborone 15th December 1981 he was ordained Bishop 6 March 1982, in Gaborone, Republic of Botswana, Southern Africa. Retired 25th April 2009
  3. Rt Rev Bishop Valentine Tsamma Seane was Appointed Bishop of Gaborone 05th February 2009. He was Ordained Bishop of Gaborone 25th April 2009. Resigned 09th August 2017

History of the Diocese

On 24 April 1959, Bechuanaland was constituted as a Prefecture Apostolic and confided to the care of the Passionist Congregation (St. Patrick’s Province, Ireland). On the August 1966 it became the Diocese of Gaborone.

Area: 174 821 sq. km.

Total Pop: 1 128, 084

Cath Pop: 87 659

For more info

Leave a Reply